GOT7 members reportedly leaving JYP Entertainment 

GOT7 members are set to leave JYP Entertainment.



01/10/2021 07:29 PM
GOT7 members reportedly leaving JYP Entertainment 
Photo Credit: @got7.with.igot7 on IG

GOT7 members are parting ways with JYP Entertainment after staying with the K-Pop agency for the past seven years, Korean news site Dispatch reported on Sunday, January 10.



A post shared by GOT7 (@got7.with.igot7)


As it turns out, the seven-piece K-Pop band’s appearance at the 35th Golden Disc Awards would mark its last activity as a group, Korean entertainment outlet Soompi said in its report.

The GOT7 members are very close. They agreed to stay together, but they disagreed on the choice of their agency. After multiple discussions with the company, they decided to part ways,” a source told Dispatch as quoted by Soompi.

Read: K-pop group GOT7, nakatakdang bumalik ng Manila para sa kanilang Asia Tour

While it has yet to be confirmed which agencies the members of the group have chosen, reports circulating online confirm that they are currently talks with multiple agencies.

Meanwhile, JYP Entertainment said it could not confirm anything related to the group's supposed departure as of this writing.



A post shared by GOT7 (@got7.with.igot7)


We will inform you once our position regarding GOT7’s contract renewal is ready,” JYP Entertainment said. 

Pinoy fans of the group — called Filipino Ahgases — took to Twitter to share their thoughts about the group’s departure from JYP Entertainment.

This prompted the hashtag #GOT7Forever to become one of the most-talked-about topics on the social media platform on Sunday afternoon.



A post shared by GOT7 (@got7.with.igot7)


Members of the group took to social media to give messages to their fans for staying with them for the past seven years which one of the members — Mark Tuan — described as the “best years of my life.”

Reassuring fans about what the future holds, he said: “Nothing is coming to an end, just the beginning. The seven of us are going to continue to bring you guys the best version of us till the end.” 



A post shared by Mark Tuan (@marktuan)


Meanwhile, Jackson Wang has yet to post the group photo shared by his fellow members on Instagram.

Composed of members JB, Mark, Jackson, Jinyoung, Youngjae, Bambam, and Yugyeom, GOT7 debuted under JYP Entertainment in 2014.

Over the years, the group released numerous hits including “Hard Carry,” “Never Ever,” and “You Calling My Name,” among others.

GOT7’s last visit to Manila was in 2019.