• Home
  • Fresh Scoops
  • ‘Fan Girl’ bagged a total of eight awards, including Best Picture.

Antoinette Jadaone’s ‘Fan Girl’ sweeps 2020 MMFF Awards

‘Fan Girl’ bagged a total of eight awards, including Best Picture.

Antoinette Jadaone’s ‘Fan Girl’ sweeps 2020 MMFF Awards-PUSH TEAM


12/28/2020 10:07 AM
Antoinette Jadaone’s ‘Fan Girl’ sweeps 2020 MMFF Awards

Fan Girl emerged as the big winner at the 2020 Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) awards night held Sunday, December 27.

Fan Girl, a coming-of-age film about an obsessed teenaged fan who finds herself stuck inside a mansion with her celebrity idol for one night and learns "exactly why they say never meet your heroes," bagged a total of eight awards, including Best Cinematography, Best Sound, Best Editing, Best Screenplay and Best Picture.

Paulo Avelino and Charlie Dizon, who top billed Fan Girl, won the top film acting prizes, while Antoinette Jadaone, who also wrote the screenplay for the movie, was named Best Director.

READ: Paulo Avelino praised for 'volatile performance,' Charlie Dizon for 'great naturalness' in Hollywood Reporter review of 'Fan Girl'​




In her acceptance speech, Antoinette, who is known for her hit films Never Not Love You and Alone/Together, said: "Sana lagi nating isipin na palakihin natin ang mga kabataan sa mapagpalayang Pilipinas, na ang kabataan ng pag-asa ng bayan at tayong mga matatanda ang dapat nagbibigay sa kabataan nito sa Pilipinas ng dapat nilang hangaan."



Below is the full list of those who won at the 2020 MMFF awards night:

Best Picture: Fan Girl

Second place: The Boy Foretold By The Stars

Third place: Tagpuan

Best Director: Antoinette Jadaone (Fan Girl)

Best Actress: Charlie Dizon (Fan Girl)

Best Actor: Paulo Avelino (Fan Girl)

Best Supporting Actress: Shaina Magdayao (Tagpuan)

Best Supporting Actor: Michael de Mesa (Isa Pang Bahaghari)

Best Screenplay: Fan Girl (Antoinette Jadaone)

FPJ Memorial Award: Magikland

Gatpuno Antonio J. Villegas Cultural Award: Suarez: The Healing Priest

Gender Sensitivity Award: The Boy Foretold By The Stars

Best Cinematography: Fan Girl (Neil Daza)

Best Editing: Fan Girl (Benjamin Tolentino)

Best Production Design: Magikland (Ericson Navarro)

Best Visual Effects: Magikland (Richard Francia, Ryan Grimarez of Central Digital Lab)

Best Original Theme Song: The Boy Foretold by the Stars (“Ulan” by Jhay Cura/Pau Protacio)

Best Musical Score: Magikland (Emerzon Texon)

Best Sound: Fan Girl (Vincent Villa)

Best Child Performer: Seiyo Masunaga (The Missing)

Best Student Film: Paano Maging Babae (De La Salle College of St. Benilde)

Best Virtual Float: Magikland (1st place),

Second place: Isa Pang Bahaghari

Third place: Fan Girl

Manay Ichu Memorial Award: Gloria Romero

Special Jury Prize: Peque Gallaga