41st Gawad Urian nominees named



5/23/2018 9:10 AM
41st Gawad Urian nominees named

Photos credit to the owners


The Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino has announced the nominees for the prestigious film award recognition --the 41st Gawad Urian-- happening on June 14 (Thursday) at the ABS-CBN Vertis Tent and will be airing live on Cinema One at 7pm.

Leading this year’s list is the film “Respeto” with 12 nominations including Best Picture, Best Director for Treb Monteras II, and Best Actor for rapper-actor Abra. Best picture nominees “Balangiga: Howling Wilderness” follows with 10 nominations and “Tu Pug Imatuy” with nine nominations. Other Best Picture nominees are “The Chanters” with a total of seven nominations, and “Birdshot” and “Bhoy Intsik,” both with six nods each.

Other films which received multiple nominations are “Changing Partners,” “Ang Larawan,” and “Kita Kita” with six each.

Gawad Urian 2018 is set to highlight Filipino music in the much-awaited awards night as three of this year’s leading film nominees are musical --“Respeto,” “Ang Larawan,” and “Changing Partners.”

This year’s Natatanging Gawad Urian award will also go to jazz pianist, composer, arranger, and musical director Winston Raval (Vanishing Tribe). The musician has handled film scoring for over 20 movies, and he was previously honored as Best Musical Director for “Ikaw Ay Akin” in the 1977 Urian Awards.

Other awards in this annual film recognition include Best Screenplay, Best Production Design, Best Editing, Best Cinematography, Best Sound, Best Short Film and Best Documentary.

The nominees and winners are chosen by the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino composed of reputable pillars in Philippine cinema led by its president Rolando Tolentino together with members Grace Javier Alfonso, Butch Francisco, Bienvenido Lumbera, Miguel Rapatan, Benilda Santos, Dr. Nicanor Tiongson, Tito Genova Valiente, Patrick Campos, Shirley Lua, and Gary Devilles.

Best Film:


“Balangiga: Howling Wilderness,” Achinette Villamor, Edong Canlas, Khavn, producers
“Birdshot,” Pamela L. Reyes, producer
“Bhoy Intsik,” Ferdinand Lapuz, producer
“The Chanters,” Cai Cena, Ferdinand Lapuz, Thop Nazareno, producers
“Respeto,” Monster Jimenez, producer
“Tu Pug Imatuy,” Norhaiya Diabo Macusang, Jillian Kayle, Arnel Mardoquio, Milo Tolentino, Arnel Barbarona

Best Actress

Alessandra de Rossi (“Kita Kita”)

Joanna Ampil (“Ang Larawan”)

Angeli Bayani (“Bagahe”)

Gloria Diaz (“Si Chedeng at Si Apple”)

Dexter Doria (“Paki”)

Jally Nae Gilbaliga (“The Chanters”)

Agot Isidro (“Changing Partners”)

Elizabeth Oropesa (“Si Chedeng at Si Apple”)

Bela Padilla (“100 Tula Para Kay Stella”)

Angellie Nicholle Sanoy (“Bomba”)

Malona Sulatan (“Tu Pug Imatuy”)


Best Actor

Abra (“Respeto”)

Empoy Marquez (“Kita Kita”)

Nonie Buencamino (“Smaller and Smaller Circles”)

Timothy Castillo (“Neomanila”)

Noel Comia Jr. (“Kiko Boksingero”)

Allen Dizon (“Bomba”)

RS Francisco (“Boy Intsik”)

Jojit Lorenzo (“Changing Partners”)

Sandino Martin (“Changing Partners”)

Justine Samson (“Balangiga: Howling Wilderness”)


Best Director

Arnel Barbarona (“Tu Pug Imatuy”)

Sigrid Andre Bernardo (“Kita Kita”)

Khavn De La Cruz (“Balaliga: Howling Wilderness”)

Joel Lamangan for (“Bhoy Intsik”)

James Robin Mayo (“The Chanters”)

Mikhail Red ("Birdshot”)


Best Supporting Actress

Yayo Aguila (“Kiko Boksingero”)

Angeli Bayani (“Maestra”)

Shamaine Buencamino (“Paki”)

Jasmine Curtis-Smith (“Siargao”)

Chai Fonacier (“Respeto”)

Nathalie Hart (“Historiographika Errata”)

Odette Khan (“Bar Boys”)

Menchu Lauchengco-Yulo (“Ang Larawan”)

Gloria Sevilla (“Maestra”)


Best Supporting Actor

John Arcilla (“Birdshot”)

Robert Arevalo (“Ang Larawan”)

Romulo Caballero (“The Chanters”)

Dido De la Paz (“Respeto”)

Pio Del Rio ("Balangiga: Howling Wilderness”)

Nor Domingo (“Respeto”)

Ronwaldo Martin (“Bhoy Intsik”)

Jess Mendoza (“Sa Gabing Nanahimik ang mga Kuliglig”)

Arnold Reyes (“Birdshot”)


Best Music

Ryan Cayabyab (“Ang Larawan”) Arnel Barbarona (“Tu Pug Imatuy”)

Vincent de Jesus (“Changing Partners”)

Jay Durias (“Respeto”)

Erwin Fajardo (“The Chanters”)

Khavn (“Balangiga: Howling Wilderness”)

Lutgardo Labad and Odoni Pestelos (“Smaller and Smaller Circles”)


Catch the 41st Gawad Urian on Cinema One (SkyCable ch. 56, Destiny Cable Digital Channel 56, and Destiny Analog Ch. 37) on June 14 at 7pm.

The 1st CineManunuri Film Festival, a partnership between the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino ang Cinema Centenario, will be held from June 15 to 29 featuring the nominated and awarded movies in Gawad Urian 2018.

To see full list of nominees, visit www.cinemaone.ph and manunuri.com. For other updates, like Cinema One’s official Facebook page (www.facebook.com/Cinema1channel).