JM De Guzman, Jason Dy bag top prize in Himig Handog 2018

See the complete list of winners in this year’s Himig Handog here.


Twitter: @pauleaaa


11/11/2018 5:30 PM
JM De Guzman, Jason Dy bag top prize in Himig Handog 2018

Photo credit to: @starmusicph IG (R)

The Original Pilipino Music (OPM) scene has never been more alive with this year’s grand celebration of Himig Handog live on ASAP earlier today.

With the special participation of some of the most celebrated Pinoy singers of this generation—namely, Ogie Alcasid, KZ Tandingan, Daryl Ong, and Himig Handog 2017 winner Moira —the Grand Finals of the annual music competition was a huge success. 



Iba talaga ang musikang Pinoy!!! #HimigHandog2018FinalsonASAP

A post shared by Star Music (@starmusicph) on


After the performances from the nominees, it was time to hand out the awards to its rightful winners. First off was Maris Racal‘s “Sugarol” written by Jam Sabili, which bagged the MOR Philippines Choice Award, TFC’s Global Choice for Favorite Song, and MYX Choice for Best Music Video.



"Sugarol" won the MOR's Choice Award! Congratulations Maris & Jan Sabili! #HimigHandog2018OnASAP

A post shared by Star Music (@starmusicph) on


Sam Mangubat, who sang and performed “Wala Kang Alam” by Mel Magno and Martin John Arellano, was pronounced as One Music PH Choice for Favorite Interpreter. Best Produced Track/Music Producer’s Award and Fifth Best Song were awarded to Jona’s “Tinatapos Ko Na”, written by SJ Gandia. 



Congratulations Sam Mangubat! One Music PH Choice for Favorite Interpreter! #HimigHandog2018OnASAP

A post shared by Star Music (@starmusicph) on




Star Music’s Choice Award and Fourth Best Song went to Janine Berdin’s “Mas Mabuti Pa”, composed by Mhonver Lopez and Joana Concepcion. Third was “Kababata” sung and performed by Kyla and Kritiko, who also wrote the song.





Members of Agsunta were all smiles as they received the Second Best Song Award for “Wakasan”, composed by Philip Arvin Jarilla. 



Finally, Himig Handog 2018 presented JM de Duzman, Jason Dy, and songwriter Kyle Raphael Borbon as Grand Winners for “Sa Mga Bituin Na Lang”.



Other hopefuls who didn’t make the list were: Sheena Belarmino, Krystal Brimner, and Manila 48 for “Dalawang Pag-ibig Niya” by Bernardo S. Reforsado, Eumee for “Hati Na Lang Tayo Sa Kanya” by Joseph Santiago, and BoybandPH for “Para sa Tabi” by Robert William Peña.