• Home
  • Fresh Scoops
  • Daniel Padilla, Gerald Anderson and Piolo Pascual were named MVP in their respective sports activities

Star Magic artists channel sporty side in annual Star Magic Games

Daniel Padilla, Gerald Anderson and Piolo Pascual were named MVP in their respective sports activities

Star Magic artists channel sporty side in annual Star Magic Games-Maureen Marie Belmonte
Maureen Marie Belmonte

Twitter: @MissHappyWriter


05/30/2016 02:02 PM
Star Magic artists channel sporty side in annual Star Magic Games

Taking a break from performing in front of the cameras, Star Magic artists channeled their sporty side as they participated in an the annual sports fest held recently at the Celebrity Sports Plaza.

The event, dubbed “Sun vs. Stars” because of the partnership with Sun Life Financial, was graced by Sun Life brand ambassador Piolo Pascual, Xian Lim, Kathryn Bernardo, Daniel Padilla, Gerald Anderson, Maja Salvador, Arjo Atayde, Rayver Cruz, JC de Vera, Daniel Matsunaga, Erich Gonzales, Joseph Marco, and Ylona Garcia, Bailey May, Janella Salvador and Elmo Magalona, among others.

They were divided into four teams which were named after superheroes: Black Widow led by Daniel, Blue Captain America led by Ronnie, Yellow Wolverine led by Eric Nicolas, and Green Hulk led by Jairus Aquino. They participated in events including basketball, volleyball, swimming, badminton, and fun games.

Myx VJ Erica Abello and Zonia Mejia placed third in the mixed relay swimming competition, which was dominated by Sun Life teams.  

In volleyball category, Yellow Wolverine team won against Black Widow team, while Blue Captain America team beat the Green Hulk team. Budding star Ashley Colet bagged the Most Valuable Player award, and was also part of the Mythical Six along with Julia Barretto, Gretchen Ho, Marco Gumabao, Joseph Marco, and Jed Montero.

Meanwhile, Green Hulk's Heaven Peralejo and Moi Bien won the women's category while Black Widow's Neil Coleta and Inigo Pascual were named champions in the men's category. Moi and Neil were also pronounced Best Male and Female Players, respectively. Yellow Wolverine players Piolo and Kate Pepito won the mixed doubles category, and the actor was declared overall Most Valuable Player.

The Star Magic artists also saw action on the courts as they participated in the basketball competition. In the teen division, Green Hulk team won against Blue Captain America team with the score of 36-27. Green Hulk team continued its winning streak in the mixed adults division against Yellow Wolverine team, with the score ending 52-49.

The much-awaited adult basketball division game saw Daniel’s Black Widow team winning against Captain America team, which was comprised by of the Hashtags led by Ronnie Alonte. The exciting match ended with the score at 70-69.

For the third straight year, Daniel bagged the Most Valuable Player award; while Star Magic games newbie Ronnie took home the Rookie of the Year Award after an explosive performance in the exhibition game where he also participated in.

Jairus Aquino was named the teen division's Most Valuable Player while Bugoy Cariño took home the Rookie of the Year award. In the adult division, Anjo Damiles was honored as Rookie of the Year.

Star Magic's Dream Team, which was led by Gerald Anderson gave an exciting performance but eventually lost to the Sun Life Team during the exhibition game. Gerald was eventually named as the exhibition game's Most Valuable Player.

Meanwhile, the fun games' overall champion was Green Hulk team. 

Apart from the sports activities, the Star Magic artists also participated in "Hoops Heroes" mounted by the Sun Life Foundation. For every participant who played at the booth, Sun Life Foundation donated P1,000 to Filsports Basketball Association, which supports the training of young athletes. Among those played were Zaijan Jaranilla, Arjo Atayde, Alexa Ilacad, and Star Magic’s Mr. Johnny Manahan. 

Robi Domingo, Erika Abello, and Eric Nicolas hosted the opening ceremonies, Angeline Quinto sang the national anthem, while Xian Lim led the invocation. Andrei Felix and Tippy Dos Santos also hosted the awarding ceremonies.